I apologize…

…for not posting in such a long time. Life has just gotten so busy lately that blogging has taken a backseat; and myself being new to the blogosphere doesn’t help either. 

On the upside, I’ve been doing some pleasure reading, including revisiting some Jane Austen. I infinitely prefer Pride and Prejudice and Sense and Sensibility to anything else she wrote, but it’s sometimes enjoyable to sit down and read her other novels, too. The ones I have re-read most recently are Northanger Abbey and Mansfield Park. Her heroines in this book are much more in the line of Pride and Prejudice’s  innocent Jane, and even a bit of Dickensian heroines like Esther Summerson and especially Little Dorrit.  

Northanger Abbey is on the shorter side,  but it’s interesting as it’s told from the point of view of a 15-year-old as opposed to an 18 or 20-year-old (while there’s only a few years difference, those years can make all the difference in the world) and it gives us more of a feel for the gothic novels people read at the time. Mansfield Park just feels plain different from everything else she’s written, even though it’s the same basic romantic premise as her other books. You can still tell it’s Miss Austen though–there’s no mistaking her writing. =)

I also recently saw the 2005 silver-screen “Pride and Prejudice,” and while I still infinitely prefer the 1995 BBC version, I was pleasantly surprised. The one thing I especially liked about the 2005 film is that Lizzie explains to her father what Darcy did for the family. It happened in the book and makes his acceptance of her choice much more understandable. I never could get why Andrew Davies’ didn’t put that scene in the already 5-hour-long version. It would have taken only minutes of his time and is actually a rather important, if small, occurrence. 

I must get back to life, but I shall hopefully post again soon, perhaps this weekend. Ttfn!

Leave a Reply

