A Trip Through Time and Fiction Part 2: Britain’s Favorite Alien

 

The Tenth Doctor and the Children of Time. Image from http://www.bbc.co.uk/doctorwho/s4/characters/doctor10

Now for my favorite of the moment: Doctor Who. I’ve gotten into the phenomenon much later than everyone else, but as long as it’s still popular it’s not too late to jump on the bandwagon, right? I’m not going to call myself a Whovian yet, because I haven’t seen the first 8 Doctors, only the new series (Nu-Who). Since there is such a vast amount of the old series to be seen, I don’t think I’d be justified. I am very much a fan, however. I think what many people are attracted to is the idea of the show, in addition to the show itself. Because, just like with every TV show, not every episode is exactly the best, and some lines are corny and mushy and so on. But the fact that the Doctor is a being (not human, so I can’t say man, although he acts very human) who travels through time and space and voluntarily helps the creatures he meets is refreshing. He is ultimately selfless, because he never thinks twice about what he does, and only ever worries about the danger when it could hurt someone he loves. The Doctor is dynamic and generally upbeat: even in his more serious and perhaps ’emo’ incarnations (Eccelston’s 9th Doctor), there is a whimsy and light-heartedness present, that comes partly from his personality and partly, I believe, from his faith and hope in the basic goodness of everything in the universe. He supports what we want to believe. One VERY important thing to remember is that I have notI repeat not seen any of the old series, so this may not hold true for Doctors 1 through 8, and even 11 (because I’m still on Tennant). Like I said, I came in late so the new series is all I can comment on.

The British really do produce quality television shows: look at Sherlock. And wouldn’t you know Steven Moffat does both Sherlock and Doctor Who? Though I don’t agree with those who say Benedict Cumberbatch should be the next Doctor. Sherlock seems to be a cynical, arrogant, human version of the Doctor and if he DID play the Doctor, he would just be Sherlock. The whimsy and the hope would be gone, and the series would lose its meaning. It would become another Sherlock. Not that I don’t like Benedict Cumberbatch, he’s wonderful actor, but that is one part he would not suit at all. If he hadn’t been Sherlock first, it might have been different. But, as they say, it is what it is.

Leave a Reply

