Little Wonders

One of these days I’m going to have to actually post a book/movie/anime review again. Who knows when that will be! Today, however, I’m going to wax philosophical. Sort of.

A recent (and most excellent) post on Beneath the Tangles about not allowing ourselves to get so wrapped up in anime and the internet (or anything, really) that we get addicted to them got me thinking. We tend to miss out on a lot of stuff, especially if all we do is sit in front of our computers all day. I’m no exception–I need to be much better about the amount of time I spend with my electronics. But during the past couple of years I’ve experienced one of those things that we sometimes miss: wonder.

Don’t get me wrong. Movies and books can lead us to places of wonder, too. But I’m talking about a different kind of wonder. The kind where you don’t have to think about anything, but you just look at it and say, “Wow, that’s beautiful!” and continue to stare on in amazement and awe. I find this most when just observing nature. I’ve been lucky to be living in a place that is almost always beautiful, even when it’s cold outside. Even now there are snowdrops, daffodils, dandelions, and (I think–I’m no botanist) dogwoods in bloom, and the grass is that full, rich, green, and the bushes that haven’t blossomed yet have these tender, yellow-green leaves and buds on them. Some of my favorite plants to see are these tiny periwinkle flowers, I don’t know what they are–they could be weeds for all I know–that are just beautiful.

This image is NOT from where I currently am and is not any of the plants I describe above (at least I don't know it to be) but it just happened to be a very beautiful flower.

This image is NOT from where I currently am and is not any of the plants I describe above (at least I don’t know it to be) but it just happened to be a very beautiful flower.

A few weeks ago, when we had a particularly blustery day that warranted a Tornado Watch, the weather was just so wonderful I took 2 hours to do nothing but enjoy it. First I lay out on the grass, in the sun, watching some birds being buffeted from tree to tree by the wind. More and more birds joined this particular flock, and they continued to move from tree to tree. After that, I grabbed my iPod, put on some Josh Groban and took a walk to enjoy the wind. Maybe it’s just the romantic in me, but it was wonderful and delightfully melancholic.

CIMG1040

Isn’t the sun just awesome??

There’s something about just enjoying the beauty of nature that is comforting, peaceful, and refreshing.  Nowadays we’re so jaded, we forget the childlike wonder of just appreciating something as wonderful as it is. We say, “It’s a bird, so what? It’s a flower, so what?” instead of realizing just how amazing birds and flowers really are. We need to make sure we take the time to appreciate those things, and the only way we can do that is by choosing to get out of our chairs and out in the sunshine, and encouraging others to do the same.

And for some reason, writing this post made me think of this song. Enjoy! And don’t forget to appreciate the little wonders in your own life, be it a wonder of nature or spending time with people you love.

Leave a Reply

