All The Things I Can’t Do

Remember how I said I would be posting less because of NaNoWriMo? That’s definitely how it’s going to be. It’s going to be down to just a Quick Takes every week.

Because unfortunately I have not yet developed the energy to sit on my butt from 10:00am to 6:00pm, go to Zumba for an hour after work, and then come home and write 1500+ words and a blog post (or two) all in a day.

 

I honestly wish I could: there are SO MANY THINGS I want to do. I want to do ALL THE THINGS.

Do All The Things

 

I want to play volleyball like I did in grade school (thanks, Haikyuu!!) and play tennis and write poetry and read lots of biographies and visit Japan and South Korea and go to London again, and take voice lessons and practice my piano more and write more stories and more blog posts and help people and do crafts and make scrapbooks and visit all my friends and bake lots of cool desserts and take walks and–

Well, you don’t need to know all that. Suffice to say I am constantly frustrated at the fact that there is so much I want to do, and that not only do I not have the time, I don’t have the talent or energy to do all those things either.

Doctor Who Rage Gif

So I have to pick a few things. The voice lessons, the blogging, the visiting friends, the trying to write a novel, occasionally baking, and slogging my way through this thick biography of Keats. And maybe, in a couple years, if I save up enough, taking a trip to Seoul. I found that just by setting aside a small portion of my paycheck, in about a year I can save up for a round-trip ticket and a week’s lodging. And that’s without even looking for the cheapest deals.

Ahem. Anyway. The point of this post before I got sidetracked was to say, I’m doing NaNoWriMo so you’ll be hearing from me a little less. That is, you won’t have to worry about Secret Garden hijacking my Quick Takes again anytime soon. But just for the end of October and the month of November. (I need to do lots of research. I’ve never taken on a project like this before, and it’s exciting…and scary. But more exciting.)

Prayers and best wishes to all who are participating in NaNoWriMo this year! Go have fun and write!

4 comments

  1. medievalotaku · November 3, 2014

    Good luck to you on NaNoWriMo! I know what you mean about having so many things one wants to do and having so little time to do them. C’est la vie! I actually haven’y started on my novel for this month yet, but I figure that there is still plenty of time.

    • Nami · November 5, 2014

      Thanks! I hate it because sometimes the littlest things seem to take up so much time. But as they say, if you want to do something you make time for it, so you have to pick the things you know you can do and then do them. I suppose i do have time to do more than I think, as in my free time at work I’m teaching myself the Hangeul alphabet (my Korean workbooks just came in the mail the other day XD).

      There definitely still is time to start! Although as I started writing I realized just how short months are and just how much 50,000 words is. And just how much effort writing without the muse takes. But it’s a good experience. Good luck with whatever you decide to do for that!

    • Nami · November 7, 2014

      Thanks! Yep, there still is time–we’re only a week into it. And the point isn’t so much to win as to write, right? =D

      • medievalotaku · November 7, 2014

        Exactly, just focusing on writing stops a sense of perfectionism from stymieing us. I know of one blogger who has not written a proper article because his perfectionism gets in the way every time.

        That said, I do like winning. Nothing would please me more than if I wrote a novel which sold 50 million copies or so. But, wild dreams like that are another thing which can prevent one from putting pen to paper. 🙂

Leave a Reply

